1. sunbet(中国)

      Supporting protocol for use-case 1: Dimensionality reduction in "M2aia - Interactive, fast and memory efficient analysis of 2D and 3D multi-modal mass spectrometry imaging data"

      Jonas Cordes

      Published: 2021-08-13 DOI: 10.17504/protocols.io.bwybpfsn
      AI 解读
      浏览 1673

      Abstract

      M²aia is able to apply dimensionality reduction methods to 2D/3D MSI images. To demonstrate the DR methods we load a single peptide brain slice MS image, select multiple peaks from a peak list and start a PCA and t-SNE.

      Before start

      a) Download and install M²aia

      Software

      ValueLabel
      M²aiaNAME
      Windows/LinuxOS_NAME
      http://github.com/jtfcordes/m2aiaREPOSITORY
      Jonas CordesDEVELOPER
      http://jtfcordes.github.io/M2aiaLINK
      2021.07.00VERSION

      b) Download the data set

      Dateset
      APP_NL-G-F_67weeks_3D_maldi_lipid_slice_all (GigaDB) [3]http://dx.doi.org/10.5524/100909

      Steps

      Load Data into M²aia

      1.

      Open the Data view and define the signal processing:

      • set your normalization strategy (e.g. TIC)
      • set your smoothing strategy (e.g. Gaussian)
      • set your baseline correction strategy (e.g. Median)

      Load at least one continuous profile *.imzML image file into M²aia: File > Open File or Ctrl + O.

      Ensure, that the corresponding *.ibd file is available at the same directory level.

      M²aia application with selected ion image at m/z 864.89 +/- 0.65 Da.
      M²aia application with selected ion image at m/z 864.89 +/- 0.65 Da.

      Peak picking

      2.

      Open the Peak Picking view, e.g. from the menu: Window > Show View > Peak Picking .

      Note
      The peak picking utilities of the Peak Picking view are designed for handling overview spectra. Pixel-wise peak picking is not realized within the graphical user interface of M²aia.

      Select an overview spectrum type in the drop-down menu (e.g. Mean).

      Note
      The drop-down menu selection is not synced to the overview spectrum shown in the Spectrum view. You can change the overview spectrum shown in the Spectrum view using the right click context menu while hovering the overview spectrum.

      Set the peak picking parameters (example):

      • set the SNR to 2
      • enable monoisotopic peak harvesting
      • set the min correlation to 0.6

      Start the peak picking.

      M²aia application with selected ion image at peak-of-interest (POI) m/z 723.23 +/- 0.36 Da.
      M²aia application with selected ion image at peak-of-interest (POI) m/z 723.23 +/- 0.36 Da.

      Peak selection and PCA

      3.

      Select peaks of interest (red annotations).

      Note
      You can select/deselect all peaks by clicking on the upper left corner button (red arrow). Double click on individual rows will perform an imaging request according to the given m/z value of this row and tolerance specified in the Imaging tab of the Data view.

      Select the target dimensionality and start the PCA (blue annotation).

      Note
      The image generated by the PCA serves as the input for the t-SNE.

      The result image is now available in the Data Manager view. You can change the currently displayed projected image by using the right click menu of the "PCA"-datanode and the Component slider.

      M²aia application with selected 3rd component of the PCA image.
      M²aia application with selected 3rd component of the PCA image.

      t-SNE

      4.

      Set the t-SNE parameters (example):

      • set iterations to 200
      • set perplexity to 10
      • set shrink factor to 2

      Make sure that a "PCA" named datanode is available as derived node of the MSI datanode. Start the t-SNE.

      Note
      To find good parameters for the t-SNE please check the To find good parameters for the t-SNE please check the FQA of Laurens van der Maaten's github.io page..

      Note
      The calculation of the t-SNE may take some time. The status can be tracked within the console window of M²aia.

      Note
      If the image has many pixels (as in the example shown >140k pixels), the calculation time can be very long. This can be reduced e.g. by decreasing the lateral resolution. For this purpose the shrinkage factor can be adjusted. The image is reduced in resolution by dividing the lateral dimensions by the specified factor. This reduces the t-SNE calculation time. After successful application of the t-SNE, the image is resampled to restore the original image geometry.
      M²aia application with t-SNE image.
      M²aia application with t-SNE image.

      推荐阅读

      Nature Protocols
      Protocols IO
      Current Protocols
      扫码咨询